PaulC3.png

Employee Spotlight - Paul

What project(s) are you currently working on, and what do you find interesting or exciting about this project and/or its resulting technology?

I work on as many projects as they need me to work on. I love the anticipation that builds as you go along. It’s exciting to see everything working properly when the project is done.

 

What do you enjoy most about working at RE2?

The team here is outstanding. There is a ton of knowledge contained within each person here—it gives you the opportunity to potentially learn new things beyond the electronic/electrical field.

 

If you could switch jobs with anyone else at RE2 for one day, whose job would you want and why?

I am happy where I am and wouldn't feel confident doing anyone else's job here as well as they can. Maybe ask me in a couple of years?

 

Where did you go to school and what was your major? Which course was most relevant to your work at RE2?

I attended ITT Technical Institute and my degree is in Electronic Engineering Technology. Being a technical school, my education was fairly streamlined for the degree, so almost all of the courses I took pertain to my work here at RE2.

 

What task(s) would you most like to see a robotic arm perform?

Carrying stuff. I call myself the "mule" of my family because I am the one mostly carrying bags, boxes, kids, etc. It would be nice to get a robot to do this task. Well…maybe not the kids.

 

What is your favorite robot (real or fictional)?

The T1000 (the good guy) from Terminator 2. Who wouldn't want that bodyguard?

 

What do you enjoy about living in Pittsburgh?

One of the best things about Pittsburgh is that you get a sense of belonging to some sort of club. If you venture to other cities in the U.S. and wear a Pittsburgh T-shirt, somehow you always seem to run into people who either live in Pittsburgh or who are originally from Pittsburgh.

 

What other jobs have you held?

I worked as a technician at NREC from 1999-2001, where I actually remember seeing Jorgen for the first time. Between the ages of 11 and 13, I set up duck pins at a local Italian Club. At 14, I worked a front counter at a local pharmacy until I was 16. I’ve also worked as a janitor and fishing department sales associate at Dick's Sporting Goods.

 

Where do you see robotics going in the next 25 years?

I see robotics being integrated more into normal life. Robots are already vacuuming and mopping our floors. Another company was developing an automated machine to fold laundry. I just see more and more of these tasks being turned over to automated equipment.

 

When you’re not working on robots, how do you like to spend your time?

Up until last year, I was the lead singer in a 1980s hair metal cover band. I still enjoy singing at home, where my children always respond "Really, Dad?" when I sing songs that they like. I also love to go fishing, but have been limited to just going trout fishing a few times during the year. My biggest hobby right now is playing with the kids, especially video games with my 4- and 8-year-old girls. Believe it or not, one of my hobbies is taking broken electronics and trying to repair them. I try to buy expensive items that I cannot afford that need repair, buying them for a lot less and then minimizing the total repair cost to get them working.

Back to Employee Spotlights